Bellbird Music announces -
July 6, 2009

THE REDBACK IS BACK - All the songs about that pesky eight legged REDBACK are now released together for the first time. 

Bellbird Music announces the release of Slim Newton –Redback, a 20 song collection of comedy songs recorded by Slim Newton for the Hadley label in the 70s and 80s. Included here are all five songs written and recorded by Slim that make up his Redback saga – and there are two bonus tracks featuring Redback answer songs recorded on Hadley by Bob Bushby and Ron Shegog. 

The original Redback on the Toilet Seat was a major pop hit in 1972, selling over 100,000 units, earning 3 gold records, no platinum awards then, and winning the Golden Guitar for the top selling track at the very first Tamworth Country Music Awards. Following the success of Redback Slim went on to record six albums for Hadley, developing the Redback into a saga with “There are False Teeth in the Toilet Where the Redback Used to Be”, “Redback’s Defeat”, “Fate of Redback” and “The Death of Redback” appearing over the next few years.  A picture book of the “Redback on the Toilet Seat” featuring the words of Slim’s song with illustrations by Craig Smith was published in 2008. 

Slim Newton had his greatest success with his novelty songs, but also wrote and recorded a lot of serious material on his albums. Several of his songs have also been recorded by others over the years.  Now in his late 70s, Slim has continued to record and perform regularly since he moved from Western Australia to Tamworth at the beginning of the 19770s. He was 39 when he recorded the Redback and has now probably performed it over 4,000 times since. 

In 2009 Slim Newton achieved Country Music’s highest honour – elevation to the Australian Country Music Roll of Renown. 


Deniese Morrison No Charge

Bellbird Music announces the introduction of a premium series of titles under the “Classic Collection” banner showcasing the music of a number of Australia’s best loved hit makers. The first album in the series is DENIESE MORRISON – NO CHARGE – a 14 track all label compilation of the favourite tracks by one of the leading Australian artists in the 1980s. 

During that time Deniese won three Female Vocalist Golden Guitars at the renowned annual Country Music Awards in Tamworth for “Now I’m Easy” (1987) “Battle Hymn of Love” (1989) and “You’ve Gotta Learn to Dance” (1990).  These standout hits are included in this remastered collection of tracks that cover the first 20 years of Deniese’s career, between 1974 and 1992. 

Deniese Morrison is a Tamworth local, who developed her love of performing with the Tamworth country music club (CCMA).  When the Golden Guitar Awards began in 1973, Ron Tudor, the head of the major label Fable (John Williamson, Hawking Brothers, Johnny Chester) asked if there was a Tamworth local worthy of consideration for a recording contract.  Deniese’s name was put  forward, and in 1974 her first Fable track “No Charge” was released and headed up the charts. 

Along with her successful recording career Deniese toured extensively for over 20 years (including national tours with fifteen international acts like Gene Pitney, Tom T Hall, Conway Twitty, Dick Emery and Frank Ifield).  She appeared at many major events and hosted country music’s gala night – the Golden Guitar Awards in Tamworth three times.  Today, Deniese is again based in her home town, Tamworth, still performing and providing stagecraft training to aspiring performers through her acclaimed Stagecoach workshops. 

Deniese Morrison – No Charge is the first release in Bellbird Music’s Classic Collection, and available at good music sellers Australia wide.

Bellbird Music online catalogue at The Country Music Store
link to The Country Music Store

© 2005-2009 Bellbird Music Pty Ltd 2006 | ABN 13 107 621 278